singapor3

The drive to go legit

In General - Old Posts on June 21, 2007 at 1:54 am

The drive to go Legit, worth it? Or not.

We have advertisements everywhere, telling us not to steal music by downloading them illegally from the internet, without paying a cent. Well, I guess everybody did at least download one or two of them illegally from the web at least once in their lifetime, agreed? Well, as I said, the authorities and music companies are offering to sell us music online, cheaply, mostly for USD$0.99(1.52160 SGD). Yeah, most of us will think that SGD$1.5 is nothing, I thought that way, honestly. $1.5 for a song is considered cheap, since an album itself costs at least 18-20 bucks if I remember correctly, regardless of the amount of songs included in the discs. So let’s say one particular album consists of 10 songs, buying these 10 songs costs only $15, compared to the $18 we have to pay for the same amount of songs if we did went all the way to Gramophone to buy the album itself. For the thriftier aunties out there, transportation fees do count, right? Let’s just add a dollar to the total net cost. A total of $19 , compared to $15 , net difference of $4.

So, now we can safely declare that the purchase of songs online do actually cost cheaper, and more convenient as well, since the size of an mp3 is only around three to four megabytes big, we can actually listen to the song almost instantly. However, it’s easier said than done.

I myself love music, not all, almost all excluding disgusting emo songs, crappily sounding chinese songs etc. After owning an Ipod, my life, to an extend, did get better, since my commute time increases 2 or 3-fold. Music does indeed makes time goes faster, especially in a train or bus. Since then, what songs I listen does matter. I started a collection of music cds, then ripped them into my Ipod. I bought a few CDs for a start, such as Carpenters, ABBA and Gwen Stepani etc. Most teenagers will booo at my collections but to hell with them, since a majority of them love korean songs, emo songs and chinese songs(which I always boo at). I bought these CDs since I love most of the songs complied in it, I don’t usually buy albums which have only one or two nice songs in it, so the only solution? Download them online, legally, that is.

I have a particular crush on the song Dreams – The Cranberries. I did embed this song on my blog most of you would notice, but Imeem recently set a thirty-seconds preview on most songs, so it sounded scary on my blog. We actually have to OWN them to enable us to play these songs, oh well. Let’s buy the song Dreams online, shall we?

My first attempt was to download from Itunes, the most popular music download service ever. I did a search on the Search box on the top right corner, it gave many results. There you go, Dreams by The Cranberries. I clicked on buy, a pop-up appeared, I had to create a new account. I entered my particulars as usual, but when it comes to payment, uh oh, a problem cropped up.

I had to choose my country, but I don’t find Singapore in it.

Feeling frustrated, I canceled the selection of countries and set the default country as US. I entered my Paypal details, and got this error.

Thanks Itunes, now where do I go to download songs? Afterwards, I searched on Google and read that Itunes Services is coming to Singapore in 2007, but the question is, WHEN? August? October or December? Some said it’s only a rumor. Rumor or not, why is Itunes not available in Singapore in the first place? It’s not like we cannot afford it. Why restrict it in the first place, gah.
Since Itunes is hopeless, I sourced for other download services available online.

I started my search on my recently discovered music service, Emusic. It was unsatisfactory as it did not include popular Artists. I tried searching The Cranberries but to my surprise, I didn’t really find any real Cranberries on it. Most artists such as The Carpenters, Backstreet Boys, ABBA did not gave any results as well. What they gave was compilations that wasn’t made by them but by other bands. However, they gave 25 free songs downloads to new subscribers(credit card required) .But, what’s the use if there is isn’t any good songs to download? Ok, so Emusic is out.

Next in line, Hmmm, Napster? Quite popular in the past, but I believe it is still as popular now. I went their website and tried to find the “Subscribe” icon. They are currently having an offer, a 7 Day Trial for free. Sounds attractive huh? It led me to a page seen below.

Oh god, thanks. Only available within U.S? I don’t understand. With technology so advanced nowadays, payment issues should be easy to resolve. PayPal is recognized on online stores all over the world, what’s the difficulty in opening it up to other countries? If payment is not the issue, then what is? Afraid that markets of other countries will dominate theirs? Just my wild guess, but seriously, why restrict it within U.S? I tried other popular music services but most of them gave this reason, “Oh sorry, only for U.S Residents”. Such services are such as URGE, Walmart etc.

Okay, okay, enough of that crap. I’ll go for local services, or do they even exists at all? Thank god they do! We have Starhub’s own Play and after a little bit of searching, I found Soundbuzz . Feeling relieved, I first started a search for my song, on Play, but sadly, doesn’t exists. However, Play does include newer songs such as Beyonce, Gwen Stefani etc. I then tried to search Dreams on Soundbuzz, and YES! I found it. They even have the whole album there, but as I said, there’s only one song that I like from their band, why download the whole album? That’s the purpose of online music download services. Their downside? Firstly, Their website do not support Firefox 2. Secondly, their music downloads are protected by DRM technology. This means : 1. Itunes cannot play them. 2. Unable to transfer to Ipod 3. You can’t send the files to others. 4. Only the computer you have downloaded it to can play it. Which means, if you had downloaded this file on your notebook, you are unable to play it on your desktop computer. However, I have already found a way around it, so, google it if you want to copy it to your Ipod or whatsoever.

Ok, I guess it’s enough for this post, will update more later.

  1. desktop computers these days gets obsolete the day that they are shipped considering how fast technology updates~’-

  2. my favorite music download site is always peer to peer networks like emule and torrents ,-.

Leave a Reply

